Contact the AIA

The Archaeological Institute of America (AIA) is North America's oldest and largest organization devoted to the world of archaeology. The Institute is a not-for-profit group founded in 1879 and chartered by the United States Congress in 1906. Today, the AIA has nearly 250,000 members belonging to more than 100 Local Societies in the United States, Canada, and overseas. The organization is unique because it counts among its Members professional archaeologists and corresponding members, students, and many others from all walks of life. This diverse group is united by a shared passion for archaeology and its role in furthering human knowledge. The AIA exists to promote archaeological inquiry and public understanding of the material record of the human past worldwide. The Institute is committed to preserving the world's archaeological resources and cultural heritage for the benefit of people in the present and in the future. Believing that greater understanding of the past enhances our shared sense of humanity and enriches our existence, the AIA seeks to educate people of all ages about the significance of archaeological discovery.

Online

Use the online contact form to email the AIA, or see department and staff contacts below.

Contacting the AIA by Postal Mail

Archaeological Institute of America Headquarters
Located at Boston University
656 Beacon Street, 6th Floor
Boston, MA 02215-2006 USA

ARCHAEOLOGY Magazine
36-36 33rd Street
Long Island City
New York, NY 11106 USA

AIA Tours
PO Box 938, 47 Main Street, Suite 1
Walpole, NH 03608-0938 USA

By Department Telephone and Email

AIA Headquarters 617-353-9361 aia@aia.bu.edu
Membership 617-353-8705 membership@aia.bu.edu
Publications 617-353-8711 publications@aia.bu.edu
Website 617-353-8711 website@aia.bu.edu
Meetings 617-353-8704 meetings@aia.bu.edu
Lecture Program 617-358-4184 lectures@aia.bu.edu
Fellowship Programs 617-358-4184 fellowships@aia.bu.edu
AIA Societies 617-358-5909 societies@aia.bu.edu
Education 617-353-8708 education@aia.bu.edu
Newsletter 617-353-9361 newsletter@aia.bu.edu
AJA 617-353-8710 aja@aia.bu.edu
ARCHAEOLOGY 718-472-3050 letters@archaeology.org
editorial@archaeology.org
AIA Tours 800-748-6262 or
603-756-9888
aia@studytours.org

By Fax

AIA headquarters:

Accounting:

ARCHAEOLOGY:

AIA Tours:

617-353-6550

617-353-3408

718-472-3051

603-756-2922

By Staff Member

 

Ann Benbow, Executive Director
617-353-9362
abenbow@aia.bu.edu
Ph.D., Curriculum and Instruction
M.Ed., Science Education
B.S., Biology
 

Kevin Quinlan

Kevin Quinlan, COO/ Publisher ARCHAEOLOGY Magazine
617-353-8706
kquinlan@aia.bu.edu
B.S., Accounting, Boston College
Please contact me with questions regarding Archaeology Magazine, as well as Institute operations, finances, human resources, or accounting.

Jennifer Klahn

Jennifer Klahn, Vice President of Philanthropy
617-353-8709
jklahn@aia.bu.edu
M.S., Arts Administration, Boston University
B.A., Anthropology, Hampshire College
Please contact me with questions about giving opportunities at AIA, including annual fund, American Journal of Archaeology fund, planned giving, lecture endowments, site preservation, and special events such as the AIA gala.

 

Kevin Mullen

Kevin Mullen, Director of Circulation and Fulfillment
617-353-8711
kmullen@aia.bu.edu
B.S., Classics and Biology, Duke University
Ph. D. Candidate, Department of Archaeology, Boston University
Please contact me with any questions about ARCHAEOLOGY magazine fulfillment and circulation, the Fieldwork Opportunities Bulletin, and professional member issues.

 

Andri Cauldwell

Andri Cauldwell, Senior Director of Conferences and Event Planning
617-353-8704
acauldwell@aia.bu.edu
B.A., Politics, College of Santa Fe
International Affairs program with concentration in Middle Eastern Studies/Communications and Journalism, Suffolk University
Please contact me about the annual meeting, exhibit hall, PAMC, sponsorship, annual gala, and other special events.

 

Ben Thomas

Ben Thomas, Director of Programs
617-353-8708
bthomas@aia.bu.edu
Ph. D., M.A., Archaeology, Boston University
B.A., Archaeology, Brandeis University
Please contact me about all AIA programs, including education, outreach, site preservation, societies, national lectures and membership.

 

Lorrelle Hrul

Lorrelle Hrul, Director of Finance
617-358-4403
lhrul@aia.bu.edu
B.S., Finance, Bentley College
Please contact me with any questions about AIA finances.

 

Meredith Langlitz

Meredith Anderson Langlitz, Senior Programs Coordinator
617-358-5909
mlanglitz@aia.bu.edu
B.A., Archaeology and History, Boston University
Please contact me about International Archaeology Day, site preservation, societies and membership.

 

Laurel Sparks

Laurel Nilsen Sparks, Lecture and Fellowship Coordinator
617-358-4184
lsparks@aia.bu.edu
M.A., Medieval British Archaeology, University of York, B.A.,Medieval Studies, SUNY Binghamton
Please contact me about the AIA national lecture program, fellowships, scholarships, and publication grants.

 

Amelie Walker

Amélie Walker-Yung, Web Designer
website@archaeology.org
B.A., Anthropology and Psychology, Vanderbilt University
Please contact me regarding website issues.

 

Jeffrey Vermes

Jeffrey Vermes, Database Administrator
617-353-9363
jvermes@aia.bu.edu
Accounting, Excelsior College
Please contact me with any questions regarding donations.

 

Deanna Baker, Membership and Societies Administrator
617-353-8705
dbaker@aia.bu.edu
B.A., Archaeology, Boston University
Please contact me about membership and awards.

 

Judith Rust, Staff Accountant
617-353-8702
jrust@aia.bu.edu
A.B., History, Dartmouth College
Please contact me with any questions regarding Society checks, payments, or accounts payable/receivable inquiries.

 

Elizabeth Christian, Governance Coordinator
617-353-9361
echristian@aia.bu.edu
B.A., Archaeology, Boston University
Please contact with me with any questions regarding AIA governance, policies and procedures, and general administration.

 

Madeleine Donachie, Director of Publishing, American Journal of Archaeology
617-353-8710
mdonachie@aia.bu.edu
Ph.D., Nautical Archaeology, Texas A&M University
M.A., Anthropology, University of Houston
B.A., Archaeology and History of Art, University of Edinburgh
Please contact me for questions about the American Journal of Archaeology.

 

Vanessa Lord, Electronic Content Editor, American Journal of Archaeology
617-358-4163
vlord@aia.bu.edu
Please contact me about the AJA website and online content.

 

Katrina Swartz, Editor, American Journal of Archaeology
617-353-9364
kswartz@aia.bu.edu
B.A., English, Pacific Lutheran University
M.A., Publishing and Writing, Emerson College
Please contact me for questions about the American Journal of Archaeology.

ARCHAEOLOGY Magazine

Kevin Quinlan
Publisher
617-353-9362 kquinlan@aia.bu.edu
Claudia Valentino
Editor in Chief
718-472-3050 x 4902 cvalentino@archaeology.org
Samir S. Patel
Deputy Editor
718-472-3050 x 4906 samir@archaeology.org
Jarrett A. Lobell
Executive Editor
718-472-3050 x 4908 jarrett@archaeology.org
Zachary Zorich
Senior Editor
718-472-3050 x 4907 zach@archaeology.org
Richard Bleiweiss
Design Director
718-472-3050 x 4909 ken@archaeology.org
Kevin Mullen
Director, Circulation and Fulfillment
617-353-8711 kmullen@aia.bu.edu
Greg Wolfe
Circulation Specialists, Inc.
Circulation Consultant
203-945-2032 gwolfe@circspecialists.com
T. J. Montilli
Publishers Newsstand Outsource, LLC
Newsstand Consultant
516-766-0180 montilli_PNO@yahoo.com
Gerry Moss
Director of Integrated Sales
718-472-3050 x 4904 gerry@archaeology.org
Karina Casines
Account Manager
718-472-3050 x 4905 karina@archaeology.org
Cynthia Lapporte
West Coast Account Manager
323-493-2754 cynthia@oakmediagroup.com
Malin Grunberg Banyasz
Editorial Assistant/Office Manager
718-472-3050 x 4900 malin@archaeology.org

AIA Tours

Todd Nielsen
Director
603-756-9888 x 106 todd@studytours.org
Lauren Cummings
Educational Management
603-756-9888 x 108 lauren@studytours.org
Patricia Dooley
Business Manager
603-756-9888 x 104 patricia@studytours.org
Valarie Roy
Operations Manager
603-756-9888 x 105 valarie@studytours.org
David Smith
Marketing & Communications
603-756-9888 x 107 dave@studytours.org
Brittany Walters
Passenger Service Coordinator
603-756-9888 x 101 brittany@studytours.org

 

Dig Deeper

Email the AIA
Subscribe to the AIA e-Update

Sign Up!