Martha and Artemis Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award

2014 Joukowksy Award Winner Ann Santen receives her award.

The Martha and Artemis Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award is to be granted to those AIA members who, through their sustained and exceptional volunteer efforts, have furthered the work of the Institute and increased public awareness regarding its mission. Societies in particular are encouraged to nominate members who have provided exceptional service to the Institute. Trustees currently serving on the Governing Board are ineligible to receive this award. No more than two awards, in the form of a framed citation, will be presented each year at the Annual Meeting of the AIA.

Due Date for Nomination
Completed nominations, in the form of a letter detailing the candidate's service to the AIA, should be received by Institute Headquarters at the address below no later than September 2, 2015. The Executive Committee will select the recipient(s) of the award prior to the Fall meeting of the Governing Board.

Please send all nomination materials to:

The Martha and Artemis Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award Committee
Attn: Awards Department
Archaeological Institute of America
656 Beacon Street, 6th Floor
Boston, MA 02215-2006
(617) 353-9361
FAX: (617) 353-6550


2014 Martha and Artemis Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award: Ann Santen

Ann Santen recently ended a term as a Society Trustee of the AIA and she has served as society president of the Cincinnati Society since 2007. Under her guidance, Cincinnati has expanded its reach into the community by increasing its membership to include more local residents and students of all ages. Having volunteered her time as a non-professional AIA member, Ms. Santen went further than the average volunteer, increasing the footprint of archaeology in the Cincinnati area by recruiting graduate students from universities for an outreach program that interacts with schools and community centers throughout the metro area. Before retirement, Ms. Santen had a successful career as the General Manager at Cincinnati's premier public radio station. In 2004-2005, she joined the UC Classics Department on an excavation at Apollonia in Albania.


Past Winners of the Martha and Artemis Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award

2013 Claire Lyons
2012 Shelby Brown
2011 Ava Seave
2010 Nancy Palmer
2009 Michael and Neathery Fuller
2008 Jeffrey A. Lamia
2007 Patty Gerstenblith
2006 James Russell
2005 Anne Salisbury
2004 Eleanor Guralnick
2003 Gertrude Howland
2002 Frank J. Wezniak
2001 Ira Haupt, II
1999 James R. Wiseman
1997 Raymond L. Den Adel
1996 Leonard V. Quigley
1994 Anna Benjamin
1992 Judith Feinberg Brilliant
1991 Charles S. La Follette
1990 Lloyd E. Cotsen
1989 Norma Kershaw
James H. Ottaway, Jr.
Leon Pomerance (awarded posthumously)

*The name was changed from the Distinguished Service Award to the Martha and Artemis Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award at the December 1997 Annual Meeting of the AIA.

Return to previous page