Pomerance Award for Scientific Contributions to Archaeology

2014 Pomerance Award Winner Waldo Tobler

The committee for the AIA Pomerance Award for Scientific Contributions to Archaeology invites nominations for the 2017 award. Eligibility is not restricted to members of the AIA, and candidates for the medal may be sought internationally with no geographical limitations. The recipient may be a professional or amateur scientist, or a team, whose interdisciplinary work with archaeologists merits recognition. Persons who have received the Gold Medal of the AIA are not excluded from eligibility.

Due Date for Nomination
Completed nominations should be received by Institute Headquarters at the below address no later than April 1, 2015.

Please send name(s) and a CV or statement about the nominee's contributions to the field to:

Atten: Awards, AIA Pomerance Medal Committee
Archaeological Institute of America
656 Beacon Street, 6th Floor
Boston, MA 02215-2006
FAX: (617) 353-6550
Phone: (617) 353-6550
E-mail: Awards@aia.bu.edu


2014 Pomerance Award for Scientific Contributions to Archaeology:  Waldo Tobler

Waldo Tobler received degrees in Geography from the University of Washington in Seattle, worked at the University of Michigan and is currently Professor Emeritus at the University of California in Santa Barbara, where he previously held the positions of Professor of Geography and Professor of Statistics. His awards include a Lifetime Achievement Award in GIS by ESRI and a Doctorate honoris causa (1988) from the University of Zurich, Switzerland. He has been on several committees and councils including in the National Science Foundation sponsored National Center for Geographic Information and Analysis, the Urban and Regional Information Systems Association, the Regional Science Association, the Mathematical Social Science Board, the US delegate to the International Geographical Union Commission on Geographical Data Processing and Sensing, the National Academy of Sciences of the United States, and prior to his retirement, the Royal Geographical Society of Great Britain. Having used computers in geographic research for over forty years he is known for his publications and the "first law of geography" (1970) as well as his invention of several map projections. He has also been involved with the National Research Council and the Board on Earth Sciences, and has been on the editorial board of The American Cartographer, Journal of Regional Science, and the International Journal of Geographical Information Systems, among others. Recent work involves building a global, latitude-longitude oriented, demographic information base with resolution two orders of magnitude better than was previously available.


Past Winners of the Pomerance Award for Scientific Contributions to Archaeology

2013 Stephen Weiner
2012 David P.S. Peacock
2011 Michael D. Glascock
2010 Paul Goldberg
2009 Dolores Piperno
2008 Michael S. Tite
2007 Patty Jo Watson
2006 Pamela B. Vandiver
2005 Jane Buikstra
2004 Ian Freestone
2003 Peter Ian Kuniholm
2002 Garman Harbottle
2001 Curt W. Beck
1999 Edward V. Sayre
1998 Nikolaas J. van der Merwe
1997 Martin J. Aitken
1996 W. David Kingery
1995 Norman Herz
1994 Robert Maddin, James Muhly, and Tamara Stech
1993 Michael G.L. Baillie, Bernd Becker, Bernd Kromer, Gordon W. Pearson, Jon R. Pilcher, Minze Stuiver, and Hans E. Suess
1991 Karl W. Butzer
1990 Robert H. Brill
1989 Harold E. Edgerton
1988 George (Rip) Rapp, Jr.
1987 George L. Cowgill
1986 Elizabeth K. Ralph
1985 Charles A. Reed
1984 Herbert E. Wright, Jr.
1983 J. Lawrence Angel
1982 Cyril Stanley Smith
1981 Frederick R. Matson
1980 Marie Farnsworth

Return to previous page