Journey Down the Ganges: India’s Holiest River

Dates: Tuesday, February 10, 2015 to Monday, February 23, 2015 (14 days)
Tour Leader: Nancy Wilkie

Ganges river, Varanasi. Image by Wedstock 2011

Explore for five days India's capital, Delhi, and the holy cities of Varanasi and Bodhgaya before embarking the 28-cabin riverboat Bengal Ganga for an 8-day, 800-mile journey down the sacred Ganges River. Aboard the riverboat, discover what may very well be the most relaxing, luxurious, in-depth means of exploring India: Relax on a comfy lounge chair right outside your cabin or on the top deck while viewing a panoply of river and village life, freshwater dolphins, and exotic birds. On daily excursions, you will visit Hindu and Buddhist sites, the ruins of ancient universities, medieval fortresses and palaces, and more. Throughout the program you will gain insights from two distinguished experts with abundant experience leading small groups in India: Carleton Professor Emerita Nancy Wilkie and Dr. Annapurna Garimella, an art historian and cultural expert based in Bangalore and Delhi. An optional, post-trip extension in Odisha (Orissa), including a visit to Konarak’s 13th-century Sun Temple (a UNESCO World Heritage site) is also available.

Aboard the 28-cabin riverboat Bengal Ganga


Pricing starting at $11,295 Per Person/Double Occupancy
Pricing starting at $12,995 Single Occupancy


 

Download the Brochure or View Online

Itinerary

Tuesday, February 10, 2015: Arrive DELHI, India
Wednesday, February 11: DELHI
Thursday, February 12: DELHI | VARANASI
Friday, February 13: VARANASI | SARNATH | VARANASI
Saturday, February 14: VARANASI | BODHGAYA
Sunday, February 15: BODHGAYA | RAJGIR | NALANDA | SIMARIA | EMBARKATION
Monday, February 16: MUNGER | SULTANGANJ | BHAGALPUR
Tuesday, February 17: BHAGALPUR | Dolphin Sanctuary | Vikramshila | BATESHWARSTHAN | KARAGOLA
Wednesday, February 18: KARAGOLA | RAJ MAHAL 
Thursday, February 19: RAJ MAHAL | FARAKKA | JANGIPUR
Friday, February 20: JANGIPUR | MURSHIDABAD | CHOURIGACHA
Saturday, February 21: CHOURIGACHA | KALNA
Sunday, February 22: KALNA | KOLKATA (Calcutta)
Monday, February 23: KOLKATA | DISEMBARKATION | FLY HOME

*** Optional Post-Tour Extension to ODISHA ***

Monday, February 23, 2015: KOLKATA | BHUBANESWAR
Tuesday, February 24: BHUBANESWAR
Wednesday, February 25: RAGHURAJPUR | PURI | KONARAK | PIPLI

View Detailed Itinerary


If you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).

Dig Deeper

Email the AIA
Subscribe to the AIA e-Update

Sign Up!