Iran: The Ancient Land of Persia

Dates: Wednesday, May 13, 2015 to Thursday, May 28, 2015 (16 days)
Tour Leader: Margaret Cool Root

Persepolis

The art and archaeology of the Persian Empire, as well as its complex interactions with ancient Greece, are the focus of your AIA study leader’s longstanding research and expertise. This special tour of Iran includes eight UNESCO World Heritage sites. One of them, Persepolis, you will visit twice; it is considered one of the world’s most spectacular archaeological sites. 
In addition to the dazzling cities of Tehran, Shiraz, and Isfahan, discover the Sasanian religious center of Takht-e Soleiman; Pasargadae, location of the first Persian capital; Yazd, one of the last strongholds of Zoroastrianism; and much more. This is Professor Root’s third AIA Tour to Iran; join her for an unforgettable journey to the land of ancient Persia.


Double Occupancy (15-20 participants) $7,795

Double Occupancy (10-14 participants) $8,295

SINGLE Supplement (limited availability) $1,295


 

Download the Brochure or View Online

Itinerary

Wednesday, May 13, 2015: Depart Home
Thursday, May 14: Istanbul, Turkey | Tehran, Iran
Friday, May 15: Tehran
Saturday, May 16: Tehran
Sunday, May 17: Tehran | Soltaniye | Takht-e Soleiman | Takab
Monday, May 18: Takab | Hamadan | Ganj Nameh | Tepe Nush-e Jan | Kermanshah
Tuesday, May 19: Kermanshah | Bisotun | Kangavar | Taq-e Bostan | Kermanshah
Wednesday, May 20: Kermanshah | Yazd
Thursday, May 21: Yazd | Taft | Yazd
Friday, May 22: Yazd | Pasargadae | Shiraz
Saturday, May 23: Shiraz | Naqsh-e Rostam | Persepolis | Shiraz
Sunday, May 24: Shiraz | Firuzabad | Shiraz
Monday, May 25: Shiraz | Persepolis | Isfahan
Tuesday, May 26: Isfahan
Wednesday, May 27: Isfahan
Thursday, May 28: Isfahan | Istanbul, Turkey | Home


If you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).