Jungle Kingdoms of the Ancient Maya (land tour)

Dates: Saturday, January 30, 2016 to Friday, February 12, 2016 (14 days)
Tour Leader: Virginia Miller

Aerial view of Palenque at the western edge of the rainforest

Limited to just 12 participants, this tropical adventure provides the best-paced itinerary available to thoroughly explore ancient Maya sites in the lush jungles of Mexico, Guatemala, and Honduras. Maya art and architecture will “come alive” as you encounter enormous stelae (carved monoliths), painted frescoes, stucco friezes, carved lintels, and huge temple-pyramids that soar above the rainforest. Explore, in-depth, the sites of Palenque, Bonampak, Yaxchilan, Tikal, Yaxha, Copan, and Quirigua (four are UNESCO World Heritage sites); with free time to go bird watching or simply relax, reflect, and enjoy our comfortable hotels and remote jungle lodges. No other itinerary provides three nights each at Tikal and Copan.


Pricing:
$7,645 (11-12 participants) per person double occupancy.

$8,245 (8-10 participants) per person double occupancy.
$795 single supplement.

This brochure contains TWO Maya adventures:
Jungle Kingdoms of the Ancient Maya &
Pyramids & Temples of the Yucatan

Download the Brochure or View Online

Itinerary

Saturday, January 30, 2016 - HOME | VILLAHERMOSA, Mexico
Sunday, January 31 - VILLAHERMOSA | COMALCALCO | VILLAHERMOSA
Monday, February 1 - VILLAHERMOSA | LA VENTA PARK | PALENQUE
Tuesday, February 2 - PALENQUE
Wednesday, February 3 - PALENQUE | BONAMPAK | FRONTERA COROZAL
Thursday, February 4 - FRONTERA COROZAL | YAXCHILÁN | FRONTERA COROZAL
Friday, February 5 - FRONTERA COROZAL | TIKAL, Guatemala
Saturday, February 6 - TIKAL
Sunday, February 7 - TIKAL | YAXHÁ | TIKAL
Monday, February 8 - TIKAL | RIO DULCE
Tuesday, February 9 - RIO DULCE | QUIRIGUÁ | COPÁN, Honduras
Wednesday, February 10 - COPÁN
Thursday, February 11 - COPÁN
Friday, February 12 - COPÁN | SAN PEDRO SULA | HOME
 

If you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).